Apply Online for the Community Initiatives and Affected Areas Programs

The Community Initiatives and Affected Areas Programs are funded by Columbia Basin Trust (the Trust) and managed by local regional governments and Indigenous partners.

The Community Initiatives and Affected Areas Programs are intended to be flexible and incorporate community-based funding decisions.  The Programs support local projects that provide additional value to Basin communities and that benefit the broad community and public good.  Program funds are distributed annually to the Trust’s local government partners: the regional districts of East Kootenay, Central Kootenay and Kootenay Boundary, the City of Revelstoke, Town of Golden, Village of Valemount, and to the Trust’s Indigenous partners: Ɂaq’am, Ɂakisq’nuk, Lower Kootenay (Yaqan nuɁkiy), Tobacco Plains Indian Band (Ɂakink’umŧasnuqŧiɁit) and the Shuswap Indian Band.

In the East Kootenay, the Community Initiatives Program funds projects that are identified as priorities within the communities and rural areas of the Regional District of East Kootenay.

Proposals are accepted once per year and must be submitted through the Trust’s online application system.  This is a new process and you are encouraged to carefully read through the 2019 Application Guide for application information and instructions. 

The deadline to submit proposals for the 2019/2020 Program year to the RDEK is 2:00 pm on Monday, January 21, 2019.

Click here for the Application Guide, Worksheet, Reports and online Application Form available from the RDEK.

For further information regarding the Community Initiatives & Affected Areas Programs please contact:

Tina Hlushak
Deputy Corporate Officer
Phone: 250-489-2791 or 1-888-478-7335 (toll-free)